Mohegan Sun Brings Home Two Academy of Country Music Awards


Mohegan Sun Sweeps both Categories Nominated
UNCASVILLE, CT (March 23, 2016) – The Academy of Country Music Awards announced in Las Vegas, NV that Mohegan Sun has once again won multiple ACM Awards, sweeping the field for casino awards. Mohegan Sun Arena has won “Casino of the Year” for medium capacity venues for the second time in three years. An unprecedented 5th ACM award for the Arena! The Wolf Den has won for “Casino of the Year” for small capacity venue.
This year’s awards, hosted by Luke Bryan, who just did two sold out shows in Mohegan Sun Arena, and Dierks Bentley, will be broadcast live on CBS on April 3rd from MGM Grand in Las Vegas.  The 51st Annual ACM Awards represents an Academy of over 6,000 members from across the music industry and companies around the world.
“We are extremely honored to be acknowledged once again by the ACM with this unprecedented accomplishment that puts Mohegan Sun’s brand on the world stage,” said Tom Cantone, Senior Vice President of Sports & Entertainment for Mohegan Sun. “These awards are a tribute not only to our commitment to Country music, its artists and fans, but is also a credit to the talented technical crews we have here running two of the top venues in the world.”
Mohegan Sun Arena is now ranked consistently among the top venues in the world according to Billboard Magazine, Pollstar and Venues Today. It has won “Casino of The Year” at the Country Music Awards in 2008 & 2010 and in 2013, was voted “Arena Of The Year” at the G2E Global Gaming Conference in Las Vegas. Also in 2013, Mohegan Sun won “Casino of The Year” in 2 categories at the Academy of Country Music Awards. Mohegan Sun Arena was also ranked among the top 10 arena venues in the nation for 2014, regardless of size. In 2015, Mohegan Sun took home the IEBA award for “Casino of the Year.” For more information on concerts and other great events, visit Mohegan Sun. For information on this week’s schedule, call the Entertainment and Special Events hotline at 1.888.226.7711, ext. 27163.